Personal / Interests

Ebb and Flow

I associate songs with memories

Because they are more than just ‘music’

Funny the way they resonate

As if they were not just words set to tune

 

Each song, a unique memory and

And each verse with hidden meaning

If I could relate with just the words maybe

The songs would probably not mean so much

 

I associate songs with memories

And that is why it is more potent –

Enough to make me skip on shuffle

As the first note begins

 

This time, I promise myself

This will be the time

I finally hear it out for what it is

Words and music – nothing else

 

I associate songs with memories

And I falter every time

The moment the song begins

Resolve fades and memories kick in

 

Maybe one day, I will hear them

The ebb and flow, as just the sound

As the memories don’t scrape over

Serrated edges like they always do

 

But lo!

 

I associate songs with memories

And there might never be a day

When a song shall not trigger

A random name, a face, a memory

 

Something that i would rather

not remember, not recollect.

And this is why I sometimes feel

Even music becomes noise

 

I associate songs with memories

And it is not always so heavy and burdening

For like all memories my mind holds

There are bad ones and the good ones

 

They are what bring to the fore

those random recollections I live for

telling me that the memories I need

are always just a song away

 

Trading hundred for one,

a habit I will not kick off,

I rather like the way

I associate songs with memories

 

Leave a Reply

