100 Blog Days, 100 Days of Blogging

Day 6 of 100

“Leave something for someone but don’t leave someone for something.”

― Enid Blyton, Five on a Hike Together

quote-leave-something-for-someone-but-dont-leave-someone-for-something-enid-blyton-41-37-63

Why I like this quote:

The quote is a representation of what I feel about the transient nature of materialistic things and the long term effects of letting go of someone who meant so much. The regret and remorse eat away at the brain and create a hole nothing else could fill!

Why it finds a place in my top 100

While I would not deny that her books gave me unrealistic expectations about what kids were allowed to do, (much like it would have given other kids my age back then) there was a certain charm about Blyton’s writing that still has a sway over me. Her words are the comforting cocoon I wrap myself in whenever there is an overload of information I didn’t necessarily require.

Her books were life lessons, offering curious insights into believing in magic, (long before JKR did it) and about the value of courage and bravery in the face of adversity and the importance of family and friendships. The Famous Five series is one of my most favourite series of all times and this particular quote holds my attention. I might have read it without the meaning sinking in the first few times but now hopefully, more such gems will catch my eyes! And yet again, I get the joy of rediscovering old favourites in a new light.

#Day6of100 #100BlogDays #100DaysOfBlogging

4 thoughts on “Day 6 of 100”

  1. This quote makes a lot of sense! Though I,now, don’t remember reading it in the book (it’s now official that my memory sucks!) but the wisdom in it is undeniably deep. Keep them coming, Dhiv.

    Like

Leave a Reply

