100 Blog Days, 100 Days of Blogging

Day 9 of 100

“You can’t tell which way the train went by looking at the tracks.”

― James Patterson, 1st to Die

09

Why I like it

The words have a deeper meaning than what is obviously visible. At face value, they mean the simple fact – you cannot know the right answers by looking at the wrong places / things. But the more I read this quote, the more meanings it seems to present

Why it finds a place in my top 100:

I am a fan of the Women’s Murder Club series mainly because of the members of the ‘club’ – 4 women from SF, CA who help each other directly and indirectly to solve crime. I have admired many of their dialogues, friendly banter and because of how the book thankfully does not veer towards the jealousy or spite angle between the four and there is always a underlying current of understanding and love, the books have grabbed my attention and held it.

This particular quote, though, is more of a favourite because it talks about life in a metaphor and how it is futile to look in the wrong places and search for the right answers. I have often wondered why some things happened the way they did, and felt that the questions kept mounting without answers. The realisation that searches in wrong places did not lead to the right destination or correct answers, took me a while. And that is why this quote is incredibly special and also why I repeat it to myself often.

#Day9of100 #100BlogDays #100DaysOfBlogging

Leave a Reply

