100 Blog Days, 100 Days of Blogging

Day 10 of 100

“Expectations are like hidden rocks in your path—all they do is trip you up.”

-Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni, The Palace of Illusions

10

Why I like it

As someone who has learnt the hard way that expectations often lead to disappointments (in effect, like everyone else) I can relate to this quote very much. But after every lesson, maybe the target and the timing varies, but the expectations remain in one form or the other.

Why it finds a place in my top 100

For two reasons, I like the book very much. It was something I first read during one of the most stressful times in my life, and it did give me immense strength then. The words seemed to jump out from the page and comfort me, giving me the fire and the ice simultaneously. And the second reason being the brilliance in the retelling of history’s most popular epic from an entirely different perspective.

But this particular quote speaks to me on another level. Expectations are the things that keep life interesting and give a purpose and goal to continue. But they also lead to the treacherous hope-despair-hope cycle that is hard to break out of. That is precisely why we are often afraid to expect anything, be it from anyone. I go by the words of the wise Fred Weasley here – we must exceed expectations – just by turning up to live life even with everything it throws at us!

#Day10of100 #100BlogDays #100DaysOfBlogging

Leave a Reply

