A to Z 2017, Blogging 2017

I for Irving #AtoZChallenge

I

Author’s name: John Irving

The Book(s)

John Irving has authored many books including ‘The Hotel New Hampshire’, ‘The World According to Garp’ and other bestselling novels. The book I am going to discuss here is ‘The Hotel New Hampshire’. I picked this book up as a part of my A to Z challenge when I searched for authors whose surname started with I. Irving was a popular suggestion in this regard and since I had already heard much about this book, I decided to take it up.

The story is of the events that happen in the life of a strange family. It is the story of life, love, moving places, loss, death and even a comical ‘resurrection’. The story began interestingly enough, before it deviated into circles of confusing events that are narrated in a jerky manner. The book spans about 500 pages, and I did not find the writing captivating enough to hold me. I read it, skimming through long winding narratives to reach the end just to know what happened. Not a book I enjoyed.

The Author:

John Irving is the international bestselling author of many novels and short stories including ‘The Cider House Rules’, ‘A Prayer for Owen Meany’, ‘The World According to Garp’, ‘The Hotel New Hampshire’ etc. His works have been translated into multiple languages. He has won many literary awards and has been widely praised for his bestselling book ‘A Prayer for Owen Meany’.

The memories:

I do not have any strong memory associated with this author because I read him only fairly recently. But even then, I tried one more popular book of his (The World According to Garp) and gave up midway to start (and subsequently rush through to the end of) The Hotel New Hampshire. I did not connect with the writing or the story line, which were both well out of my normal taste range.

#AtoZChallenge #IforIrving

2 thoughts on “I for Irving #AtoZChallenge”

Leave a Reply

