A to Z 2017, Blogging 2017

K for Komarraju #AtoZChallenge

K

Author’s Name: Sharath Komarraju

The Book(s):

Sharath is the bestselling Indian author of books such as The Hastinapur series book, The Crows of Agra, The Puppeteers of Palem etc. The book I am going to discuss here is the first of the Hastinapur series. The Winds of Hastinapur is a thrilling tale told from the perspective of the river Ganga, and how her son changes the course of a whole nation and influences the ruling family.

I had assumed, before I began, that this book would be about Mahabharatha as usual, one of the many takes on the epic that are flooding the market. So it was a pleasant surprise to me to note that rather than focusing on the popular events we do know as the Mahabharatha, this book focuses on the first part of it, the events that led to the dynasty being formed. I loved the woman’s POV story in the Palace of Illusions, and I loved that approach in this book too. The book was a complete package. Despite the challenge that presses me to read the various other authors for this season of A to Z, I dearly want to start the sequel of this book.

The Author:

Sharath Komarraju is based in Bangalore, India. He has authored many fiction and non-fiction books. Once a software engineer, he is now a full time writer. Sharath is influenced by Agatha Christie, Stephen King, Isaac Asimov and other greats. His works are written with a deep and different perspective and are therefore bestsellers in their genres.

The Memories:

I got The Winds of Hastinapur as a gift from a dear friend, and I wanted to begin reading almost immediately. I delayed a bit due to other work commitments and then received another copy of the same book from a different friend. It was as if I was getting a signal to start reading the book. But I began actually reading it only when I decided I was going to write about the author in this challenge and I fell in love with it almost instantly. The book flowed like a dream and I loved the free flow of the narrative in the story. This is one book I will cherish, and now I am more than eager to get to the second book of the Hastinapur series and The Crows of Agra, both of which I have as paperbacks.

#AtoZChallenge #KforKomarraju

3 thoughts on “K for Komarraju #AtoZChallenge”

  1. I was taken aback hearing the title for the same reason that you have discussed. But now, I am slightly convinced to put it in to ‘To-Read’ list especially considering the alignment with TPOI. Looking forward, nice post! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

