A to Z 2017, Blogging 2017

L for Lewis #AtoZChallenge

L

Author’s Name: Clive Staples Lewis

The Book(s):

C S Lewis is the famous author of The Chronicles of Narnia series. Much before the Harry Potter series came into existence, Narnia held the imagination of little children, who totally believed the concept of a magical world existing inside a normal, ordinary looking wardrobe. The stories were magical, and spoke of Narnia, a fantasy world. The book I’m going to discuss in this post is ‘The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe’

Aslan is, hands down, one of the most memorable fictional characters I have ever read about. There had been days when I had thought if I ever had a pet I would name him Aslan. Like all kids my age (back then) I was fascinated by the world of Narnia and rooted for the characters. Over the years, I read other fantasy series including the famous HP series and the ones about Olympians, Norse gods and other books but a part of my mind was always occupied by The Chronicles of Narnia.

The Author:

Clive Staples Lewis was a British novelist, poet, academic, medievalist, literary critic, essayist, lay theologian, broadcaster, lecturer and Christian apologist. (sheesh! Thanks, Wikipedia.) He was born at the end of nineteenth century and is famously known as the author of The Chronicles of Narnia, in the acknowledgement page of which he has written (in my opinion) one of the finest paragraphs ever written in books.

The Memories:

The Chronicles of Narnia were the books I read during my high school days. So naturally they were library copies that were fought over (I mean, I was amidst serious bookworms). So the copies I read from where yellowed and dog-eared, with notes in the margins and words underlined. I didn’t own copies of the book recently until a fellow bookworm presented me with a 3-in-1 edition of The Chronicles of Narnia that shall be treasured forever. I will revisit the magic world yet again, very soon.

#AtoZChallenge #LforLewis

 

Leave a Reply

