A to Z 2017, Blogging 2017

M for Malladi

M

Author’s Name: Amulya Malladi

The Book(s):

Amulya Malladi is the author of the bestsellers like The Mango Season, Serving Crazy with Curry, A House for Happy Mothers, The Sound of Language, and other books. The book I am going to discuss here is The Mango Season. I read the book a few years ago, after a heavy recommendation from a fellow bookworm and instantly loved the normal, casual style of writing.

I had always been partial towards books that have a lighter tone overall, making me read them without much of a concentrated effort but still leave me with something to think over. The Mango Season was one such book. The story had just about the right mixture of interesting plot twists and the general feel good factor of a large Indian family. I could relate with some of the scenarios on a personal level, and I especially loved the additional bonus recipe. (Of my favourite item, no less).

The Author:

Amulya Malladi has authored seven books, and they have been translated into multiple languages including Dutch, French, Danish, German, Spanish, Romanian, Serbian and Tamil. She has a Bachelor’s degree in Engineering, Master’s degree in journalism and works as a marketing executive. She lives in Los Angeles with her husband and children. Amulya’s writing style is simple, straightforward and distinctive by its very native style.

The memories:

I remember reading The Mango Season based on a friend’s recommendation. When I first read the book, I could not put it down. I kept turning the pages becaue the story was interesting. Before I had realised, I was nearing the end of the book. And that, I think is the success of the book. I did not even notice that a whole evening had passed. My first memories of reading a book by Malladi are sweet because of the people involved, and I will forever remember that evening.

#AtoZChallenge #MforMalladi

Leave a Reply

