A to Z 2017, Blogging 2017

R for Rowling #AtoZChallenge

R

Author’s Name: Joanne Kathleen Rowling.

The Book(s):

JK Rowling is the author of the cult Harry Potter series, and needs no further introduction. This post is dedicated to the universe she created, and I am not limiting it to one book of the series. Though I love them all in different levels, I cannot single one out. The journey began for me in my early teens, and I remember reading the first book over the course of one evening. I was so engrossed with that first line that I wrote it in a diary / journal I had maintained back then and adorned it with little flowers, so I’d forever remember that first line.

“Mr. and Mrs. Dursley, of number four, Privet Drive, were proud to say that they were perfectly normal, thank you very much. They were the last people you’d expect to be involved in anything strange or mysterious, because they just didn’t hold with such nonsense.”

And from there, there was no looking back. I had rushed to the library to borrow the next book in the series, but the librarian was not really surprised. He had seen too many potterheads in his life for this to seem odd. He had reserved the next book for me, and I remember thanking him profusely. The rest of the events are a blur, but I remember traveling with Harry, and not only Harry, but everyone else. For the few hours I read those books, I learned in Hogwarts, I saw the Christmassy postcard village of Hogsmeade, and drank it all in with an unnatural thirst.

The Author:

J K Rowling wrote Harry Potter and inspired a whole generation. Millions of people across all ages grew up with the books, and those who’d already grown up read them and absorbed them, only to inspire the next generation to read. She has also written companion books to the series, and other books (The Cormoran Strike mysteries) under the pseudonym Robert Galbraith. But to me, she will always be the author who created the gateway fandom, the woman who lost her billionaire status by charity, the woman who fought real life demons and incorporated mythical forms of them into her books, and the woman who taught me the importance of many things in life I’d thought were insignificant. A paragraph is not enough for me to talk about her.

The Memories:

Since Rowling is a very special author, both for me and a lot of my friends, I decided to do something different for this post alone. I had asked all of my friends their comments about the world of Harry Potter, and all the responses were individual gems I shall forever cherish. I am presenting them here as a separate post!

#AtoZChallenge #RforRowling

Leave a Reply

