Blogging 2017

Always on Repeat (Part 10 – The Kishore Kumar Playlist)

This list is

  1. Inspired my dad’s favorites (10 of about 85 – 90 songs, didn’t count)
  2. AKA the ‘sleep playlist’ – the one I used to hear when I was a kid to put myself to sleep. Sometimes even now.
  3. Full of songs I don’t really understand the depth or meaning of, because the language is a barrier. But is not, not for the enjoyment at least.
  4. The only thing I will hear when I want a voice that is both strong and soothing
  5. The list that has the songs my dad and I will belt out with happy and deep voices on lazy Sunday evenings.
  6. And thus, is incredibly special.

Tere Mere Milan Ki Ye Raina – Abhimaan 

This is a very special song, needless to say. One of the very first songs I’d heard when I learnt to individually appreciate the music, this song reminds me of a couple close to my heart, who linger in my memories and who sang this song with as much depth as the original. This post is a tribute to them, my favourite uncle and aunt!

Is Mod Se Jaate Hain – Aandhi

There is something about the haunting quality of this melody. I searched for the lyrics and learned them. And for this, I thank all my friends who have praised Gulzar and made me realise the importance of the meaning of the lyrics as much as the music. That made me love the song more because I could appreciate it better. The haunting voices and the meaning behind the song are what make it special.

Mere Saamne Wali Khidki Mein

This song is here purely for he fun aspect. I love this song mainly for its playful tone and though I didn’t understand this, my strongest memories of this song are my father making funny voices as he sang this because it made me giggle as a toddler, then as a kid, then as a teen, and now… you get the drift!

Yeh Kya Hua – Amar Prem

A drunkard’s song, more philosophical in nature, the subtitled version on YouTube remained as a video in my mobile for a long time because I was fascinated by the actor. One of my earliest crushes. Not minding his age, not minding that he was older than my grandfather!

Chingari Koi Bhadke – Amar Prem

The sad boat song. That is the name I had given to this song. I was fascinated by the sleep-inducing nature of the song. The standing joke in my family is that I had never heard the end of this song because I invariably fell asleep. I didn’t even know the movie name until recently

Jeevan Se Bhari – Safar

The different inflections of this song, another sleep song, I only recently appreciated the nuances of this because someone close to my heart wanted me to, and since then, this has been a special favourite. It is funny how the same song can stand for two different strong memories, both happy beyond measure.

Kuch Toh Log Kahenge – Amar Prem

One of my favourite songs ever, if I had to take the face value of it by the translation of the lyrics internet has offered to me. The song I hear whenever I want to understand that ‘people will say things; it is their business to talk’. This song has singularly calmed me down, often giving me reasons to smile after a tiring or exhausting day.

Gaata Rahe Mera Dil – Guide

This song I heard as part of a special Kishore Kumar CD that was gifted to me from another fan. The special version of this song had voice overs from other people explaining the song and praising the greatness of the singer, and thought I didn’t quite understand, I got a friend to translate and completely agree with the opinions expressed!

Tere Bina Zindagi Se Koi – Aandhi

The conversational nature of the song, and the expression of love, hopes and a strange sense of exhilaration (at least that is what I feel when I hear it) are what make this my favourite. From a very controversial movie, which I have not seen much to the chagrin of my father (it is one of this favorites) this song is chosen about many other songs in my playlist and I follow the inflections here more than I would any other normal song.

Mere Naina Saawan Baadhon – Mehbooba

My list can never be complete without this song. This is special because of many reasons, many people and many memories. There are a thousand reasons why this song should have been the first in this list but according to me, this is also for a fitting finale. I love everything about this song, and fervently thank the person who gifted me the CD from which I first heard it.

This song took me back on a nostalgic trip down memory lane. It is easily one of my favorites ever, because it made me reminisce about golden moments.

Leave a Reply

