A to Z 2017, Blogging 2017

Z for Zusak #AtoZChallenge

Note: With special thanks to Srilakshmi Indrasenan who blogs at I am S(t)ri! She wrote this for Partis Temporus on a short notice and I am glad she could do this! A fitting end to an exciting challenge.

Z

Author’s Name: Markus Zusak

The Memories:

This was not a big surprise – isn’t it? Or was it? Well, yes, we are at Z, and I am happy to guest post for Dhivya. While Zusak is not my first favorite author – oh you all know; it’s Rowling 😛 – he indeed is one of my favorites. Unlike most of my friends, who picked up the book after watching the movie, I picked up the book around the time the movie came but before watching it (Dhivya approves this :P). Wait, which book are we talking about here? Of course, it’s The Book Thief. Yes, that was the first time, I heard about Zusak – Every bibilophile I knew were raving about his work. I haven’t read his other book and I would love to.

Coming back to Zusak, what was it that made me love his writing when I have read only one of his novels? Well, the professionalism. To be extremely honest, I love debut authors for most of them bring in fresh air with their work. The Book Thief was no different. The book was quite a welcome change to my book shelf, which was being bombarded with Drama and Romance at that point. Now, I don’t have anything against those genres, but one can easily get tired of emotions.

I love reading books with strong female protagonists – woman or girls of substance – one of the main reasons that I love Arya Stark, Khaleesi, Hermione, Ginny (the book one), and Luna. While all these women leads are from the fantasy world, Liesel is someone from the real word. Although not from the same generation as ours, we can very well understand and correlate to her.

To be honest, this is the first war drama fiction I have read – that if you don’t include Mahabaratha and Ramayana as war dramas.

Writing a novel with death as its central theme can be quite tricky as well as threatening. While there are people who enjoy dark fiction and deep emotional themes, death, per say, is no one’s favorite – definitely not mine, at least. This novel caught my eye within the first few chapters because, it’s the death that narrates and steers the whole novel – when devil is the boss, we follow; don’t we?

So, if you haven’t read The Book Thief, I will just stop my appreciation for the book and the author here and recommend that you read the book. Before finishing this short blog about one of the inspirational contemporary authors I have known, here are some beautiful quotes from the book.

“Like most misery, it started with apparent happiness.”

“Imagine smiling after a slap in the face. Then think of doing it twenty-four hours a day.”

“If only she could be so oblivious again, to feel such love without knowing it, mistaking it for laughter.” (This is hands down my favorite)

“She was saying goodbye and she didn’t even know it.”

“Together, they would watch everything that was so carefully planned collapse, and they would smile at the beauty of destruction.” (Having underwent this, I can tell you that seeing collateral beauty is one of the saddest yet happiest moment in your life.)

Well, au revoir, people – hope you enjoyed the post.

With love,

Stri.

#AtoZChallenge #ZforZusak

Leave a Reply

